America, 1870-1920
Spring 2002 - Villanova University
Dr. Charlene Mires


Syllabus

Paper instructions

"Rediscovering Jane Addams" conference at Swarthmore, Feb. 1-2

 

Today in History

History News Network

The History Channel

Why Study History?

Why Become a Historian?

 

Assignment updates and links (most recent at top):

For April 23-30

-- Assignments in Plain Folk

For Thursday, April 11:

-- Assignment for investigation of imperialism

For Thursday, April 4:

-- Reading response for Plunkitt of Tammany Hall

For Thursday, March 21:

-- Read Chapters 1-9 in The Souls of Black Folk.  For your reading response, select any one question from the list on pages 275-76.

For Thursday, March 14:

-- Investigation assignment on Native Americans

For Thursday, Feb. 21:

-- Reading assignment for How the Other Half Lives

For Thursday, Feb. 14, and Tuesday, Feb. 19:

-- Reading response to Bread Givers
and immigration investigation assignment.

For Thursday, Feb. 7:

  • Excerpts from Rerum Novarum (Pope Leo XIII, 1891) - print and bring to class.  If you prefer to read the whole text, click here.
  • Entries from The Catholic Encyclopedia (1908).
    Browse for at least two entries that explain the Church's early twentieth-century teaching on issues we have been discussing in class (for example: wealth; poverty; labor ...) - Print your selections and bring them to class.

    Optional: To learn more about Catholic Social Teaching, click here.


For Tuesday, Feb. 5:

-- Reading response for Twenty Years at Hull-House


For Tuesday, Jan. 29:
In addition to these, please bring to class a printout of Carnegie's "Wealth" from last week's reading.


For Thursday, Jan. 24:

-- Group investigation assignments


For Tuesday, Jan. 22:
-- PBS Companion Web Site to The Richest Man in the World: Andrew Carnegie - Meet Andrew Carnegie . (Browse the rest of the site as you wish.)
-- Andrew Carnegie, Wealth (North American Review, June 1889)


Hit Counter